United As One (Lorien Legacies #7)- Pittacus Lore

The seventh and final book in the #1 New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series! With United as One, this action-packed series comes to a surprising, breathtaking, and utterly satisfying conclusion. The Garde didn’t start this war, but they’ll do whatever it takes to end it once and for all. . . .

The Mogadorians have invaded Earth. Their warships loom over our most populated cities, and no country will risk taking them head on. The Garde are all that stand in the way, but they’ll need an army of their own to win this fight.

(Hello there, friends. This review is for the final book in the Lorien Legacies series. In future, I may review the entire series. But for now, I’ll review the one I’ve read the most recently, which is this little gem of a novel.)

That’s it. It’s finally arrived, and now it’s over. And I Can’t. Stop. Crying. I absolutely loved this book, one of the best endings to a series I’ve ever read. I’m so thrilled I found this series and finished it through. It was so heart-breakingly sad, funny, terrifying and ACTION-PACKED, and I’m currently suffering from withdrawal, because it’s over. Loved it x100. Three words- JOHN. FUCKING. SMITH. Love him to bits. (From Goodreads)

A few people have suggested that this book was a little slow to start. I slightly agree, but the rest makes up for it. If you read it, you will understand what I mean.

The things I loved:

  1. The characters. John Smith (it’s no secret that I absolutely adore him) is grieving. The invasion and recent events have changed him, and now he has to lead the people of earth to victory while battling his own personal challenges. Nine is as sassy as ever. Marina has probably had the most growth, changing from the non-fighter she once was to a warrior, who too has faced her own share of grief. Six is badass and sarcastic, and I love her. Ella has changed, and I would have liked a little more of her. Adam is one of the best characters in this particular novel, and he really proves himself. Overall, the characters were written well.
  2. The ACTION. Holy cheese and crackers, was there action. What else do you expect from a book about teens with powers? Not many people are fond of this series but, if you’re like me and has stuck with it until the end, it’s probably because the idea of power-wielding alien teenagers running around on earth excites you. It sure as hell excites me. X-men fans, where are you? There is the usual fast-paced scenes of John and gang fighting the Mogadorians, and my word, the heart palpitations they gave me.
  3. The ending/epilogue. If you’re a fan of this series, and an easy crier, then this ending will induce the Noah-level waterworks. I loved how everything was wrapped up, bittersweet yet final. I couldn’t have asked for a better ending. And can I just mention John’s future with a certain someone? Oh yeah, that killed me. In the best way.

So, if you’ve loved this series up to this point, I honestly recommend this book. If you haven’t gotten this far or even started yet, I’d say give it a shot. It is not fantastic literature, but it is full of superhero-type action. And who doesn’t love that?

Leave a Reply

