Review

Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)- Marissa Meyer

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters? Fans will not want to miss this thrilling conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s national bestselling Lunar Chronicles series.

I flew through this absolute behemoth 800+ page novel in two days, and I LOVED IT. Seriously, it is one of the best endings to a series I have ever read, and I can’t get over it. I’m thrilled that I carried on through the series after Cinder, and I’ll be singing this book’s praises for a long time. There was a perfect balance of romance, adrenaline-fueling action, humour and seriousness to drive a person crazy, to the point of flying through the book at the speed of light just to keep reading. It was that good. The ending was fantastic, and I liked the final chapter, how the story seemed to come to a full circle. I like positive endings. Who doesn’t?

I loved, LOVED, the romance. Especially between Thorne and Cress. Call me a hopeless romantic, because I am. Jesus, I loved these two. The characters were so well written and balanced, each unique but forming a solid friendship through understanding of each other. It’s a risky task, trying to juggle so many characters at once, but Meyer did an astounding job and every character was present and accounted for in equal amounts. Iko (love her) and Thorne (love him) and Cress (so adorable) were hilarious and some of my favourites, but in truth I loved them all. And none of them felt unrealistic or throwaway, which I really liked. Good on you, Meyer. Double thumbs up and multiple high fives for you.

A kiss from the Captain would probably melt my central processor.”
Thorne winked at her. “Oh trust me. It would.”

*Screams in Spanish*

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. The fairytale origins work so well and the story is so intricately written, but everything adds up so well. And I adored the subtle throwbacks to the fairytales; it’s such a nice twist and a refreshing idea. Coming from my first ever review of this series, Meyer has finally taken advantage of the premise and she rolled with it. So creative and original, I was genuinely fangirling at the way she presented the fairytales in this uber cool, futuristic adventure (and I love fairytales, especially the princess ones). I’m sad to be finishing this series, but I leave it with only the most positive of thoughts.

amazing-gif

Now, for the shocker. This is one of my longest reviews so far (longest?). Who knew it would go to this series? Well played, Meyer. Who do I recommend this series to? EVERYBODY.

Leave a Reply

