Top5s

Top5s Thursday

Hello and all that jazz! I really am becoming quite inconsistent with these Top5 Thursdays. I would have posted it yesterday, but I was too busy clubbing with friends and being a college student. But fear not, I still exist. Perhaps I should rename these blogs to Top5s Mostly Thursdays But Sometimes Fridays. Has a nice ring to it, honestly.

Anyways, this week’s topic: TOP 5 BOOKS THAT MADE ME CRY

Now, this is literally impossible for me to do with such a limited list. I am a crier. By that, I mean I cry at everything. Happy things. Sad things. Romantic things. I always cry, because I’m just that emotional. If I were to actually do a list of every book that made me cry, I would have to include at least three quarters of my entire Goodreads read shelf. Wow. So I have decided to include books that made me cry REALLY BADLY. That makes it slightly less daunting.

Edit: I went through my Goodreads shelf and it was actually impossible to pick 5. So I’m going to cheat this week and put 8, but there’ll be joint places because I’m just smart like that. 😀

54a78aeea72bd_-_tlaut_0

Here we go:

At Number 5: The Little Prince AND The Kite Runner

The Little Prince got me because it was such a simple story with such a deep message. The writing was beautiful, and that alone made me cry, but that wasn’t the only thing. The illustrations, the characters, the ending itself, all left me in a cloud of sorrowful self-reflection and pondering life. It doesn’t help that I then watched the trailer for the 2015 movie adaptation, which destroyed me. As for the Kite Runner, I included this because of two poignant scenes that made me cry very hard. They actually left me distraught, and I had to take a break from reading just to compose myself. So, yeah. it hurt.

At Number 4: Allegiant (Divergent #3) AND The Perks of Being a Wallflower (spoilers ahead!!)

Allegiant is the conclusion to the bestselling Divergent trilogy. Naturally, I would have cried anyway, just because I don’t like ending a book series. But Veronica Roth did something authors often shy from- she killed off the main protagonist. And boy, was there outrage. Some people were offended that we were following a protagonist the whole time, through everything, just to witness them being killed off, thus rendering the trilogy a little useless, and at first I had similar thoughts. I was left in shock. But then, I got thinking. And I realised that it was a BRAVE move, because people die. The universe doesn’t care if you’re the King of England or a beggar in India. Importance matters for nothing, because one way or another, we all die. And the protagonist died during a tense moment in which a sacrifice was necessary to stop the tyrannical leaders. So I understand why this death was necessary. It didn’t make it any easier though, and I literally went into shock after finishing this book. Just shows you how uncommon it is to end a YA story with anything other than happily-ever-afters. The Perks of Being a Wallflower was an emotional rollercoaster from start to finish. It follows Charlie, a young guy just starting high school, who suffers from depression and anxiety. You just feel so much sympathy for Charlie, especially when you find out why he repressed memories, why he struggles to communicate with others, why the loss of friends hits him so hard. He’s such a broken character, and being in his head mirrored some thoughts I had during a tough time in my life. I read the final line of the book and immediately curled up to sob into my pillow. It was that sad.

Number 3: United As One (Lorien Legacies #7) AND Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)

The reason why United As One hit me so hard is more because of sentimentality than anything else, as I was so invested in this series, loved the idea, the characters, everything, and was so sad to see it end. Apart from that, the actual events in the book hit me pretty hard too. I was literally crying from the halfway point onwards. And I continued moping in a tearful wave over the completion of this series for a good hour. It was so ridiculous. I have a review of this book, so check it out if you wish! A similar experience with Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices. This trilogy is seriously outstanding. If you’ve read the Mortal Instruments, go read this trilogy ASAP. If you weren’t fond of the Mortal Instruments, or haven’t read it yet, my god just read this trilogy. It is honestly 10x better than the original series. And I like TMI. But this trilogy slayed it. And because it was so good, and I grew to love the characters, the final book hit me right in the solar plexus. I was absolutely distraught reading this. I was furious, shocked, frustrated, and had to put it down and take walks just to get away from it. I could not handle the level of sadness, I mean my hair was close to falling out it was so upsetting. I loved the end, but I was left fairly catatonic. A true book reader for you, affected so badly by fictional beings. Read it!

Number 2: All The Bright Places

This is one of two books that had me physically sobbing, like the ‘I can’t breathe’ kind of sobbing. The other books on this list may have broken my heart, but the crying doesn’t compare to this physically punishing kind of crying. I rarely sob. I mean RARELY. I cry plenty, but heavy tears and body racking sobs are two very different things. So this book takes the number two spot. I did a full review of this book on my blog, so I won’t go into too much detail, but I was really affected by the ending, by the characters and their relationship, and by the hold mental illness had on their lives. I finished this book in the wee hours of the morning, and I was forced to sob in silence, to prevent waking my entire household. It honestly broke my heart, so read it if you want a good purging of emotional build up.

DRUM ROLL, S’IL VOUS PLAIT:

At Number 1: Mockingbird- Kathryn Erskine

This completely unassuming little book takes the spot of the book that made me cry the hardest. Multiply the sobbing of All The Bright Places by 10, and you’ve got the image of me while reading this book. I grabbed it in the library on a lazy day, with no particular preferences in mind. I read it in one night, finished it at 5 in the morning, and cried for 2 HOURS. I am not even kidding. I don’t know if I was just really emotional that day, but this book hit me so hard. The main character, Caitlin, has Asperger’s Syndrome and struggles to handle everyday life. Her brother, one of the only people who helped her understand the world, died in a school shooting. Her story follows her grief over her loss and her inability to express it like others would, as well as her father’s struggle to connect with her while dealing with his own grief. Her attempts to make a new friend, while not understanding emotional responses like we do, is one of the most beautiful parts of the book. And the ending? I could barely read it, because I was already gone into sadness-land. Such a good book, especially in its portrayal of Asperger’s Syndrome. I strongly recommend this book to everybody.

 

And now, because I simply find it impossible to restrict lists to just 5 (or in this cheating case, 8) here are the runner-ups that almost made the list:

I Am The Messenger- Markus Zusak

All The Light We Cannot See- Anthony Doerr

To Kill  A Mockingbird- Harper Lee

The Bronze Horseman- Paullina Simons

1984- George Orwell

Forbidden- Tabitha Suzuma

Me Before You- Jojo Moyes

Ok I’ll stop now! I know, I suck at these top 5 things. But who cares? #Thuglife

Leave a Reply

