Top5s Thursday

Oh, hello there! Didn’t see you for a second. Here to check out my top 5 list, hmm? Thanks, curious person of the interwebs. Double high-fives for you.

Today, I’ll be discussing TOP 5 BOOKS/SERIES THAT MADE ME LAUGH. This may seem random, because it is. Even I can see that. My reasoning behind it is that I rarely find myself laughing out loud at books. It’s so rare, in fact, that I felt obligated to make a list. So, here goes:

the_unrealistic_expectations_fnjrnd

At number 5: The Screaming Staircase (Lockwood & Co. #1)- Jonathan Stroud

This is one of those books that mix witty humour and drops funny one-liners amidst the actual story, and I love that. Three young ghost hunters, Lucy, Lockwood and George, run around trying to solve cases of paranormal disturbances without (too many) things going wrong. I just love the lighthearted style of writing intersecting with the creepy, paranormal bits. Strongly recommend.

 

On to number 4: The Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series- Jeff Kinney*

Okay, I admit these books aren’t exactly literary gold, and are aimed at young children, but they are a quick and hilarious read. You’ll know what I mean if you’ve got younger siblings and they own these books; you just pick them up and read them incredibly quickly. And I’m not ashamed to say that the humour triggered the inner child in me, and I found myself laughing out loud at most of the events in each book. Good, funny stuff.

*It’s a kid’s book, but who cares?

 

At number 3:┬áThe Skullduggery Pleasant series – Derek Landy*

This is a gem of a series, and it perfectly mixes action, magic and humour to create a seriously original, touching and hilarious set of books. It follows a girl called Stephanie, who realises that she possesses the ability to perform magic and thus becomes the apprentice and partner-in-crime of Skullduggery Pleasant, who is a brilliant character. The parts that made me laugh stemmed mostly from Skullduggery’s sarcasm, banter with Stephanie, and the witty writing style. All the books, like the Screaming Staircase, mix humour with a larger plot of action, so every character is hilarious and well-developed. I love this series.

*I looked back on this post and nearly had a heart attack, because it appears that in the midst of my passionate top 5 listing, I completely forgot to add THE FREAKING NUMBER 3 BOOK. Jeez, I should stop writing at 2 a.m. Or perhaps invest in some strong liquor. Meh.**

**Upon looking back at this edit 5 MINUTES LATER, I happened upon a ridiculous spelling mistake. It isn’t even early morning! I have no excuses. Make that strong liquor and half a bottle of vodka. Not that I endorse heavy drinking, children. That is all.

 

Number 2 is: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest- Ken Kesey

I cannot stress how much I love this book. It’s a weird little book, one that seriously messes with your emotions. I’d be laughing out loud until I cried at one moment, and then be actually crying when I received a huge blast of feels right in the face. But honestly, this book is laugh out loud funny, because it’s just so ridiculous. The story follows the occupants of a mental institution and the way their world gets turned upside down by a new arrival. I want everyone to read it, it really is unforgettable.

 

And, for the number 1 spot: Me, Earl and the Dying Girl- Jesse Andrews

I laughed for long periods of time at this book. I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that it managed to be so funny, because not every author (particularly a new author) manages to find the perfect blend of humour to avoid falling flat. But Andrews did a FANTASTIC job. It sounds odd, promoting a book about cancer as hilarious, but that’s what I have to do. Because it definitely is. Of course, like One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, the book has its moments where it hits you with an icy blast of sadness and you’re left in tears. But the book is written to be funny, and the great thing is that the author actually succeeds. I kept rereading parts because it was that good. Read this book, and then watch the movie, because they’re both fantastic.

And that’s it for this week, my dears! Next week, I’ll be discussing my favourite adaptations (if I remember, of course), and in the following weeks I’ll be introducing some reviews for my favourite scary books and some Top5s of all things Halloween related. Look out for it! Byeeeee xxxx

 

Leave a Reply

