Top5s Thursdays

More like Top5s Fridays, right? I can’t seem to keep track of time. Assignments are slowly catching up to me, and procrastination is a serious problem, people. So…yeah. I’m behind, but I haven’t given up yet. I haven’t done a review in a while, but I’m currently reading two books back to back, and I hope to have them done next week and reviewed. Fingers crossed.

Anyways, this week’s topic is TOP 5 BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATIONS. We all have that desire to see our favourite books displayed on the big screen, right? I do, anyway. Ever find yourself reading a scene in a novel and going “holy cheese and crackers, this would look SO GOOD in a movie? Someone get me some actors and a camera, I’ll do it myself!” I’m constantly finding myself in this situation, so when a great adaptation comes along, I get really excited. And sometimes, I’m not left completely hollow inside as my favourite book is torn to shreds before my very eyes. Not that I think a movie is required to stick 100% to the source material, but it’s nice when a movie tries. So here we go:

At Number 5: Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)- Suzanne Collins

Guys, you don’t understand the level of hype the first Hunger Games produced for me. I was OBSESSED. The trailer gave me palpitations. I was so very excited for it, and lo and behold, I was seriously let down. Well, no. I exaggerate. I was left with a slightly frozen smile on my face, pondering whether “that was it”. So it did not live up to my expectations, unfortunately. But then, but then, the second movie came out. And what did it do? It killed me. In A GOOD WAY. This was the Hunger Games adaptation I had been waiting for! It was pretty darn close to perfect in my eyes, because it took the book and made it look awesome onscreen. Is there a chance that the first movie’s disappointment gave this one a false sense of greatness? ……… Possibly. Actually, no. Stop that. This movie was great. Yup.

At Numero 4: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl- Jesse Andrews

This was actually a strange one for me. I was trolling through YouTube during the summer (like you do) watching older movie trailers, and I stumbled upon the trailer for Me and Earl. Now, a bell went off in my head, because I remember seeing the trailer on TV but never watching the actual film. So what happens next? The trailer makes me cry. Yes. Bear in mind that I barely know the story or the fact that it’s actually a book. So, after ridiculously crying over a pretty well-made trailer, I researched Me and Earl and found out about the book. You know what happens when I discover info like this? I turn on my obsessive ninja mode and immediately seek to find it. I then read the book, crying and laughing all the while, and then immediately watched the film. And it was outstanding. The essence of the book was perfectly preserved, and the cinematography was brilliant. I strongly recommend both of these, because I guarantee that they will make you feel all the feels. If you’re into that sort of thing, of course.

Number 3: The Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chbosky

This is an example of a movie being slightly better than a book, in my honest opinion. I mean, I loved the book. I cried (wow, really?), I connected with the characters and I loved the storyline. All of the best elements of the book were adapted to film, and it was done so well. The actors? Amazing. The progression of the story? Amazing. The soundtrack? Amazing. It was great watching the movie onscreen, because my experience with this was almost the same as with Me and Earl. I saw the trailer, read (and loved) the book, watched (and loved) the movie, and basically ended up with a blast of feels in the face. That’s the best kind of feeling, methinks.

Number 2 (oh, so close): The Help- Kathyrn Stockett

This is an example of a movie that takes a book and its ideas and presents them just as they are. The book was humourous yet sombre, and the screenwriters and director picked up on this and created a touching, hilarious movie. The actors were brilliant, and there weren’t any extreme examples of changes between book and film. For a person who loved the book, this movie is one of my favourites of all time, and (you guessed it) it makes me cry every. Single. Time. I don’t know what else I can say about it; I saw it in the cinema and couldn’t understand how some movie adaptations went so wrong when such an example of perfection exists. Ok, I wasn’t that civilised. I believe my exact thought was “For God’s sake, if The Help can be so good then why are shit like I am Number Four even created? Like, why?”*

*What can I say? I articulate well. I’m not ashamed. That is all.

AND FOR THE NUMBER 1 SPOT: The Harry Potter series- JK Rowling

Ok, I couldn’t separate the films. Technically, they add another eight to the list, but who cares, right? *Nervous laughter* I mean, they are all really good, but the point of putting them together is that I believe they all do the books justice. I think they perfectly represent real dedication to book-to-movie adaptations, because holy hell they tried. And succeeded. Can you imagine having eight movies that stray so far from the books that they become their own little black holes of ideas? Let me tell you what I think of that:

200_s

 

Basically, I can’t not applaud the Harry Potter movies for staying close to the source material. Also, Harry Potter has been in my life for a long, long time. Having the movies to look forward to year after year filled me happiness. So I’m biased. Aw well.


Now for the Honourable Mentions:

Coraline- Neil Gaiman

Room- Emma Donoghue

Warm Bodies- Isaac Marion

Charlotte’s Web- EB White

Jane Eyre (2011 version with his handsomeness himself, Michael Fassbender)- Charlotte Bronte

 

 


That’s all folks! Next week will hopefully have two reviews, as well as a new Top5s. Some Halloween-themed topics soon to come, too. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

