Top5s

Top5s Thursday

Greetings. Would you look at that? A Top5s Thursday on an actual Thursday? What is this? Has there been a break in space-time? No, I simply found time to actually post a blog on the day I promised. Where does this time come from? Hardcore procrastination. *Sips vodka*

Anyway, this week I thought of a really cool Top5s topic that is close to my heart, being someone who loves music. Have you guessed what it is yet? Today I’ll discuss my TOP 5 BOOK-SONG DUOS!!! Have you ever found yourself reading a book and then the perfect song comes on? And they just go together so well, either literally (lyrics) or perfectly by your standards (mood, personal preferences)? This happens to me all the time. I’m really fond of listening to music and reading at the same time, so I could be reading a book and then a song comes on that is so well-matched that I forever associate the two. Here are 5 of my favourites:

At number 5:

  • Song: Lifted- Emily Sande 
  • Book: Blood Red Road- Moira Young

This is an example of “they go together well but I don’t know why”. I was listening to this song and started reading Blood Red Road (a dystopian novel, set initially in a wasteland) and this song came on. The song’s style just fit so well with the sombre mood of the novel, and when I envisioned the barren wasteland that Saba lives in, and the bleakness of her world, the song just felt so right. Especially the first few lines of the song;

And I can’t turn back, I tell my heart relax
Late at night, in the dark, I close my eyes
And suddenly everything is gone

So if you haven’t heard this song or read the book, I strongly suggest you listen to it. It honestly goes well with those kind of bleak, post-apocalyptic vibes in dystopian novels. YES.

 

At number 4:

  • Song: Numb- Linkin Park
  • Book: Clockwork Prince- Cassandra Clare

Okay. This book (and the rest in the trilogy) seriously kicks ass. I know they’re hardly new, but I really must write reviews for those three. I will. Anyway, the song, for anyone who has heard it, is a rock song with really deep lyrics. I focused less on the lyrics however, and more on the mood of the song. I think the heavy instrumental goes amazingly with the action-packed scenes in the book. Just imagine that song playing, while reading about Jem and Will fight back to back. *Shivers*. I honestly recommend this song, just because it kicks ass. The books? Read them if you haven’t already, you devil you.

 

At number 3: 

  • Song: Angel With a Shotgun- The Cab
  • Book: Hush Hush- Becca Fitzpatrick

Before I say anything, I just want to say that everyone should listen to this song, and then every song by the Cab, because they are soooooooo good and quite underrated. With that out of the way, can we just talk about how perfectly the song and book match? The song literally mentions angels, wars, hell, you name it. Plus it’s a really cool pop-rock song (sounds amazing in nightcore too). I literally heard it while in the middle of Hush Hush, a book about fallen angels, battles, romance etc. I had one of these moments when it came on:

9d62fd4fa48c4072_25

Like take some of these lyrics:

I’m an angel with a shotgun                                                                                                                 Fighting ’til the war’s won                                                                                                                                I don’t care if Heaven won’t me back

It’s just so perfect! I can’t eveeeeeeeeennnnnnnnn…… Let’s move on.

 

Number 2: 

  • Song: Love Me Or Leave Me- Little Mix
  • Book: The Bronze Horseman- Paullina Simons

Okay. Another book I just have to review. And I will. Anyway, this book is set in Leningrad during WWII. It’s a love story between a soldier (Alex) and a young woman (Tatiana). And it’s one of favourite books. There is a perfect mix of war detail and slow building love, it killlllssssss meeeeeee. As for the song, I heard for the first time while literally reading the book simultaneously. It was a warm summers night, and I was lounging in bed looking like this:

 

grandmother-little-red-riding-hood-11507966

And then the song came on, and it’s a beautiful sad song about lost romance. The lyrics don’t completely match the book, because it’s a book about budding romance, but the song’s vibe? Girl, yaasss. I think it might just be me making my own weird type of connection. But I don’t care, because they just go so well together. Please listen to the song, it’s really lovely.

 

And for my ULTIMATE NUMBER 1:

  • Song: Run- Leona Lewis
  • Book: Twilight- Stephenie Meyer

Okay, reader. Picture me, a young and impressionable girl, listening to Run on my first ever MP3, while happening to glance at the television and see the advertisement for the Twilight movie come on in mute. I literally died of happiness. I ordered my mother to buy the book for me, I read it in a day (with the song in repeat) and permanently embedded this duo onto my head for life. I don’t know what it is about those two that go so well together. The lyrics? The haunting mood of the song? The fact that Leona is literally singing in a forest and Bella and Edwards are always in forests? Just listen to this song and watch the trailer for the movie, I can’t be the only one who thinks these two match.  Here’s a beautiful encapsulation of my reaction to these two matching:

jeremy-renner


So that’s it for today. If you have any good book-song duos that go well together, or just want to recommend some killer songs for me, go ahead and comment down below. More soon. Stay groovy til then.

shaquille-o-neal

Leave a Reply

