Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)- Sarah J. Maas

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars

I recently posted a review of the first book in this series, and I talked about how much I enjoyed it, as well as the reasons why it has remained in my memory despite me reading it over a year ago. I finished this second book a few days ago, despite saying I had little motivation to continue on with the series, because reasons. 🙂 And I’ll start off by saying that it didn’t live up to the first book, hence my rating. And here’s why:

The first part of the book picks up where we left off in Throne of Glass, with Celaena carrying out her position as the King’s Champion. She does some cool assassin stuff. Or does she? Dun Dun Dunnnnnnn……

I found the first half of the book extremely slow, and I don’t know why. We’re reintroduced to all the characters we meet in book one, from lovely Chaol (team Chaol for LIFE) to Prince Dorian (the other contender), as well Nehemia and Elena. Was there any super cool assassin action like I expected? Surprisingly, no. Celaena’s character also seems to mellow out a considerable bit. I was a little disappointed to see her do absolutely nothing but hang out with Chaol and talk about her assassination dilemma.

That being said, I also kind of liked her change of heart from her previously ruthless ways. But still. Where did Celaena go?? So, after half a book of conversations, in-bed conversations, running around the castle grounds and Celaena’s patrol of Archer’s actions, things finally start to pick up.

First of all, can I hear an Hallelujah from all my fellow Chaol fans? We finally get somewhere! No more dodging the subject. All my wishes are fulfilled. Or are they?

Image result for dun dun dun gif

The plot gets interesting when Celaena starts learning more about Archer’s involvement in the rebel movement. And her run in at the masquerade ball is seriously cool. My rating for this book started to go up at that point.

And then, we have certain events involving a very sudden death, a kidnapping, and a catastrophic change of relationship. I can’t be the only one who went “MAAS WHY YOU DO THIS WHY YOU HURT ME LIKE THIS??” when I read those bits. Is there a bit of an overreaction on Celaena’s part? I don’t think so. Because I would lose it too if my trust was betrayed to the point that I lost someone very close to me. Wait, I need to let it out. Can’t hold it in. SPOILER AHEAD!

Maas! Why do you have to kill characters, huh? Why do you have to destroy my ships by doing such a thing? Do you know how hard I shipped Celaena and Chaol? I shipped. I shipped them so hard. And what did you do? You SANK MY SHIP LIKE IT WAS THE TITANIC AND MADE ME DROWN IN MY OWN FEELS. Are you happy, Maas? Are you? We were so close!

Image result for i trusted you gif

I am most displeased.

Finally, the ending really made the book for me. So many twists! But I have to say that I don’t really like where this series is headed. I know magic and Fae are at the centre of the plot, but could we not just have a little more assassin Celaena and less epic-high-fantasy-with-all-the-works Celaena? I kind of wish we weren’t going down the mystic creatures route. Because that isn’t what I signed up for.

Overall, although not as good as the first book, I still quite enjoyed this one. I’ll read the third, see if it affects my blood pressure like this one did, and post a review as soon as my busy little self can.

Let me know below if you liked or didn’t like this book. I’ll have more stuff out later this week. For now, au revoir!

4 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)- Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

