Top5s

Top5s Thursday/Wrap Up 2016

Why, hello there! The new year approaches, the horror that was 2016 is coming to an end, and I’m looking forward to a brand new start. As it’s officially the last Thursday of 2016, and I haven’t done a top5s in ages because I’m lazy and stuff, I’ve decided to make this week’s list based on the end-of-year-ness. Just to note, this isn’t all I have planned to celebrate the new year transition, I have something coming up on New Year’s Day but it’s a secret. Shhhhhh.

So, without further ado, let’s get into this special list. Today I’ll be discussing my TOP 5 BOOKS OF 2016!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can I just say that it was nearly impossible to pick just five books out of the 90+ I’ve read this year so far??? Well, I said it. I’ve had to include a runners-up list because it was THAT HARD. In no particular order here are my top picks for 2016*:

* Small disclaimer:  not all these books were actually published in 2016. Some are, but some are books that were published in the last few years that I happened to read this year. I’m not very good at keeping up with the times. Sorry   🙂 

Number 1: Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4)- Marissa Meyer

I had to include this book because it was a brilliant finale to a series that didn’t get off to a good start for me. I have a review for this book somewhere, so I won’t say too much. But this absolutely humongous book (800+ pages) had me hooked from the start, and I got it done in two days, I kid you not. It was such a good conclusion novel, and I was heartbroken when I finished it. Definitely worth reading.

Number 2: Daughter of Smoke and Bone- Laini Taylor

I also have a review for this, but let’s just say that I had high hopes for this book and I was NOT DISAPPOINTED. Taylor’s writing style is absolutely beautiful; it just flows off the page. The premise of the novel, while not new, is written in such an original way that I was awestruck while reading it. The characters, the plot and the ending are all spot-on, and I cannot wait to read on in the series.

Number 3: United As One (The Lorien Legacies #7)- Pitticus Lore 

This is another final novel in a series that I adore. I’ve been reading these books for years, so it was a really special book for me to finish, and I was distraught. I loved it so much, and not many people love The Lorien Legacies series as much as I do. I was just thrilled to get to finish the journey I started about five years ago, and I couldn’t leave this list without this book on it.

Number 4: The Bronze Horseman- Paullina Simons

This is a book that left me practically catatonic. I LOVED this book so, so much. Set in Leningrad during WWII, this romance tore my heart in two and slayed me. I loved the setting, the way the hardships of the war were portrayed, and especially the romance between Alexander and Tatiana. If you’re a fan of romance novels, then this book is for you. I can’t remember if I’ve reviewed this or not. I probably should get on that. Anyway, I was a sobbing mess while reading this, and it doesn’t help that I kept listening to “Love Me or Leave Me” by Little Mix the whole time, which is an amazing song that also breaks my heart whenever I hear it.

And Number 5: A Court of Mist and Fury- Sarah J. Maas

I said it in my review but I’ll say it again: this book FAR outshines the first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses. I hated the first one. But this? I couldn’t read it fast enough. The characters, the portrayal of PTSD, the romance, everything about it just destroyed me. I read a lot of it at work for some reason, so there I was struggling not to cry like an idiot. Sigh. Such a brilliant book, and one I definitely recommend to everybody.

Image result for so good gif

And now, for the runners-up:

Me & Earl & The Dying Girl- Jesse Andrews

A Torch Against The Night- Sabaa Tahir

I Am The Messenger- Marcus Zusak

Carry On and Fangirl- Rainbow Rowell

One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest- Ken Kesey

All The Bright Places- Jennifer Niven


And, just for a little bonus (because I’ve started a Movie Mondays section) here are my top 5 movies of the year!

5. Captain America- Civil War

4. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

3. Arrival

2. Doctor Strange* 

1. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story*

*Super excited reviews coming soon!

And for the runners-up:

Finding Dory

The Edge of Seventeen 

Zootopia 

Bridget Jones’s Baby

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children


And that’s it for now! Thanks for reading, and look out for my post on New Year’s Day because I’m super excited about it. Bye!

Leave a Reply

