Top5s

Top5s Thursday

Hey all! Long time no see! (Just kidding, it’s been like three days. I’m hilarious, I know). Anyway, I’ll keep it simple today because my creative juices are limited; I bought a bookshelf so all my attention is on it; mostly I have no idea how the fuck I’m going to construct it (I have no skills in the area). Help. I might actually do a post on it after I finish, to document the process. On to the Top5s post.

This week, I’m going to list the TOP 5 BOOKS I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO READ FROM MY TBR SELECTION!!!! Lazy? Perhaps. But I’ve bought a load of books in the last few months, as well as got a shit ton from the library that I have to get through, and these five in particular are the ones that are making me the most excited. So here we go:

At number 5: This Savage Song- Victoria Schwab

I have yet to read Vicious, but from what I’ve heard about it and This Savage Song, I’m totally excited to get to them both. This Savage Song appears to be on every BookTuber’s list of great books from last year, so naturally I jumped right on that bandwagon and ran to my local library to acquire it. Why not buy it? Because MY GODDAMN BOOKSHELF IS LYING IN A BOX AND I HAVE TO BUILD IT. Sorry. Lost my composure there for a sec. But regardless of where I get the book, I can’t wait to read it.

At number 4: It Ends With Us- Colleen Hoover

I’ve never read a book by this author, but I love romances and this book got AMAZING reviews. So what did I do? I again ran to my local library and borrowed the shit out of this book. I haven’t read a contemporary adult romance in absolutely ages, and what romances I have read are either YA, NA, or a subplot in some adult fantasy. So I’m super curious and super-suffering from pure romance withdrawal. No doubt I’ll love this book, I’m a total sop.

On to number 3: The Wonder- Emma Donoghue

I read Room ages ago, and absolutely loved it. I saw great reviews for The Wonder on Goodreads and thought to myself “I gots to read that too”. So what did I do? I ran to my local library and….You get the gist. I borrow a lot of books. Anyway, this is going to be one of the first books I read because it was on hold in the library for CENTURIES and I’m impatient as heck.

At number 2: Six of Crows- Leigh Bardugo

I bought this book around the same time the universe came into existence, totally hyped to read it. It’s been on my shelf for ages because I went mad with borrowing library books (as seen above) so I’ve been prioritising those. But I haven’t forgotten about it. I never read The Grisha trilogy, because I’m honestly not bothered. I’m hoping I don’t need it; besides, I did extensive research on the trilogy and I think I’ve grasped the essence of the story. So yeah. Super excited to read this one.

And, at number 1: Illuminae- Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

I’ve heard nothing but stellar reviews for this book. Everyone LOVES it. It has literally featured in every book-related video I’ve watched in the last few days, and I haven’t heard negative things about it once. So naturally, I ran straight to my local libr-

Image result for we get it gif

Yup, I’ve got it and I cannot wait to read it. I know the book is written in an interesting style, the story being told through a bunch of files and random pages and stuff, and I love that. I’ve only ever read one book that did that kind of thing, and I really loved how it worked out. So yeah, the hype is real.


And that is all for today! These five only scratch the surface of all the shit I have to read all the great books I’m looking forward to this year. It’s safe to say that 2017 is looking exciting so far. Or, well. You know. In terms of books. But’s that’s all that matters, right? What else do I do with my time?

Related image

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

