Movie Mondays: Doctor Strange

Image result for doctor strange  Image result for doctor strange

Hello there! As usual, I have few legitimate excuses for the absence of my regular “Movie Monday” posts. At least I’m honest, eh?

Now, it’s hardly a brand new release, but I never intended to be a reviewer who keeps absolutely up-to-date with every single film release. I’m going to go back in time a lot, so sorry about that. Oh well.

I saw Doctor Strange a few months ago in the cinema and I never got around to reviewing it, which is a huge error on my part because this movie is simply fantastic. Before I get into the juicy deets, let’s have a brief synopsis:

Dr. Stephen Strange’s (Benedict Cumberbatch) life changes after a car accident robs him of the use of his hands. When traditional medicine fails him, he looks for healing, and hope, in a mysterious enclave. He quickly learns that the enclave is at the front line of a battle against unseen dark forces bent on destroying reality. Before long, Strange is forced to choose between his life of fortune and status or leave it all behind to defend the world as the most powerful sorcerer in existence. (Courtesy of the internet).

Rotten Tomatoes rating: 90%

IMDb rating: 7.9/10

For anyone who is a huge superhero fanatic like me, the prospect of any Marvel release should stir some serious excitement. Marvel has recently been killing it with their movie releases, and with the upcoming Spiderman: Homecoming movie and new Avengers film lingering on the horizon, it’s safe to say that we’ve got a pretty bright future ahead of us. Doctor Strange, I admit, is not a hero I had particular knowledge of or interest in. But, like the naive superhero lover I am, I decided to see it anyway. That, and the fact that the reviews were slaying in their praises of this film. So off I went.

As seen in the synopsis, Dr. Strange’s life sees a dramatic change when a car accident takes away his ability to do the work he loves. Stephen is ambitious, confident, cocky, egotistical and, admittedly, a bit of a jerk. Okay, he’s a huge jerk. I felt like he was in serious need of a reality check, because he behaved like the earth revolved around him. Of course, this is intentional. Because he is forced to realise that he has to change his behaviour and mindset if he wants a chance to fix what the accident did.

The movie itself is a spectacularly mind-bending creation of amazing cinematography. One of my main reasons for being so thrilled with all these Marvel releases is that I feel we are in a golden age of cinema: special effects and cinematography are only getting better and better and Doctor Strange reflects this fact. The effects are stunning; the use of magic to mess around with time and shape reality was greatly executed. There is enough mind-blowing bending of physics and whole cities spiraling into the air to make even the strongest of us lightheaded. Speaking of magic, I don’t think I’ve mentioned that this is the strangest “superhero” movie I’ve ever seen. I’ll do it now.

This is the strangest superhero movie I’ve ever seen. It’s a weirdly wonderful step away from anything we’ve seen before.

We’re taken on an Inception-level journey with Stephen Strange as he learns to harness his powers, we follow him as he is set against the film’s terrifying antagonists, and we get to see Tilda Swinton kick ass as the Ancient One, who shows Strange that there is more to the world than what meets the eye. I know that the casting of Tilda had some negative reactions, as the Ancient One in the original comics is in fact a Tibetan man, but I thought that Tilda did a fantastic job. Diversity is important however, so I kinda wish that an Asian actor was given the chance to play this role.

As for the other actors, I couldn’t fault any of them. Benedict Cumberbatch is the last man I would cast as a superhero (not in a mean way, just based on his previous roles), but as an amazing actor he fit into the role perfectly and made it his own. I think that Doctor Strange is an amazing addition to the cast of characters we’ve already seen in Marvel films, and I hope to see more of him in future.

The ending was exciting, action-packed, and summed up the movie brilliantly. At no point was I left feeling let-down, bored or confused. The combination of cinematography, acting and plot came together to create one of my favourite superhero movies to date, and if you haven’t seen it already, then do so immediately!

My rating: 8.5/10 stars


Thanks for reading this week’s Movie Monday post. If you have any thoughts on this movie, let me know below! See you later in the week 🙂

Leave a Reply

