January Wrap-up!

Hey there bloggers, readers and fantabulous people of the interwebs. It’s January 31st! February 2nd (crap, I’m late). I’ve decided, in my spontaneous way, to introduce a monthly wrap-up (about five months too late) because I realised that I document just about everything that I read on Goodreads anyway, so why not start doing monthly wrap-ups? Also, they’re monthly. Meaning I can leave those for a whole month. Meaning I’m off the hook if I forget about them for about 29 days. This is what happy looks like 🙂

So, to kick-start my very first monthly wrap-up:


My Goodreads challenge (so far): 70 books in 2017

Books read so far: 8

Books left: 62


I read 8 books this month, yay! Some were amazing, some were not so great. All in all, January was a pretty great month. I got a bunch of books from the library, so I’m slowly working my way through them. A good few of them will hopefully be mentioned in next month’s post, so look out for that! Now, on to what I read:

1. My Name is Girl- Nina Cosford.

My Name is Girl by Nina Cosford

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars

This is an illustrated novel about all the perks and quirks of being a modern girl. I got this as a present for Christmas, and I had a lot of fun reading it. It’s hilarious and relatable, and the message at the end is super cute 🙂


2. Nothing Tastes As Good- Claire Hennessy.

28101625

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars

This is a book that broke my heart and left me devastated but happy at the same time, you know? More books about eating disorders should be written, and I feel like this one did it in a unique way. Check out my review here: Nothing Tastes As Good Review


3. Red Rising- Pierce Brown

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

My Goodreads rating: 2 stars

This was a book that I felt was overhyped, for a number of reasons. I’m planning to finish the trilogy because of the stellar reviews for the third book, but as for this one, I just couldn’t get into it. Read my thoughts on it here: Red Rising Review


4. Every Heart a Doorway- Seanan McGuire 

Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1)

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars

This was a great read that I really wished was longer. I saw some great reviews for this, as well as a fantastically interesting blurb, so I got it as soon as possible to read the hell out of. More thoughts on this book here: Every Heart a Doorway Review


5. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender- Leslye Walton

18166936

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars

I loved EVERYTHING about this book. From the story, to the writing, to the characters, this book just fulfilled every expectation I had for it (and many beyond my imagination). Books like this are what make me stop and think “this is what writing is.” To avoid gushing too much, I’ll link to my full review here: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender Review


6. A Doll’s House- Henrik Ibsen 

37793

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars

This is a play that I read for one of my classes this semester, and I really enjoyed it. It was relatively short, but packed full of complexity, as well as a revolutionary way of looking at gender expectations and capitalism. A great read. Oh no, I’m being influenced by my English degree. Help.


7. This Savage Song- Victoria Schwab

23299512

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars 

As a book that failed to meet my expectations, I’m sad to say that I really wanted more from this. I just wish that more was done to explore the brilliant idea of the story, and that the writing was a tiny bit more sophisticated. Here’s my full review: This Savage Song Review


And last, but not least:

8. Mafiosa (Blood for Blood #3)- Catherine Doyle 

Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars (3.5-4)

I won’t say too much about this because it is a trilogy ending, but I quite enjoyed this book. Set in Chicago, the trilogy follows Sophie, an ordinary teenager who finds herself drawn into the Mafia world. I really loved book 2, and this one was a nice end to the trilogy.


  vadzqq8b    FAVOURITE BOOK: The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender


And that’s a wrap (up)! Thanks so much for reading, and if you liked any of the books above, I’d love to hear about that down below. I have so many blog posts to put out over the next few days, so look out for those. Bye for now!

3 thoughts on “January Wrap-up!

Leave a Reply

