Life Update- Still Alive: Life of a College Blogger

Hey there, bloggers! I’ve been floating around the interwebs and happened to check the date of my last blog entry, which was- get this- February 6th. FEBRUARY 6TH??!? Where in the HELL have I been for two weeks???? Oh yes. College. Cursed, cursed college.

Image result for i hate it gif

So, yeah. I didn’t forget that I had a blog or anything (that only happened once, I swear. No it didn’t. Or did it?) Basically, I had a mad two weeks of assignments to which I had to dedicate all of my precious time. Time I usually dedicate to blogging/lazing around. Well, I wasn’t completely honest. I had one week full of assignments and one week of recuperation, it was THAT bad. I had three essays due and a midterm exam. ALL WITHIN ONE DAY OF EACH OTHER. Am I smart? Did I start these well in advance and have them done well in advance?

Image result for hell naw gif

Time management in college is hard enough without my chronic procrastination. It’s safe to say that I got zero sleep last week, but through the power of sheer determination, I got everything done. Thank Christ.

This post is basically just a reminder that I haven’t disappeared, not that anyone particularly cares. But I will definitely start blogging again regularly from Monday, with a Movie Monday post I’m super excited about!

And just so this post isn’t completely pointless, I’ll do a quick currently-reading list below (I am a book blogger, after all). I’m reading three books- yes three- not because I’m a super advanced reader, but because I checked out a bunch of library books at the same time and I’m running out of time to return them 😀 😀


Lolita- Vladimir Nabokov

Lolita 1955.JPG

This is a novel based around a middle-aged Literature professor who becomes infatuated with a young girl. I think most people know this story, or the film based on it, but it’s one of those books that has been on my to-read list for a while. What can I say so far? I absolutely hate it. I’ll have it done soon, so maybe my mind will change. I’ll have a review up, and I think it’s the controversial topic that is really turning me against it.

The Nightingale- Kristin Hannah

 The Nightingale

This is a historical novel set in France during WW2, and it centers around two sisters who struggle to come to terms with the war. I have mixed feelings about this book, but it has stellar reviews and I feel like it’s picking up slowly. Hopefully my mind changes about it.

Queen of Shadows- Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)

The fourth novel in the Throne of Glass series, we follow Caelaena’s journey into reclaiming her past. I don’t know why I keep reading this series, because in every review I complain about how much I miss the premise of the first book. But they’re fun to read so I will probably keep going with them. And I’ve literally only read three pages, so I haven’t got much to go on, but I love Maas’s writing so I’m excited.


And that’s it for this mini rant/update/currently reading post! Thanks for reading, and I’ll be back in full swing on Monday. If you’re reading/have read any of the books above and want to let me know what you think about them (no spoilers!) let me know below. Bye for now 🙂

14 thoughts on “Life Update- Still Alive: Life of a College Blogger

    1. I’m kind of on the fence about it. I like it, but there are a few things about it that aren’t sitting right with me. As a WW2 novel, it seems a little…weak? Not sure if that makes any sense! But it has gotten better towards the second half.

      Like

  1. I am experiencing the utmost packed schedule at college, too 😦

    I am so excited about you reading Lolita! Hopefully, we get to hear your thoughts about it soon 😀 . I have it sitting on my shelf, and I plan to read it in a few weeks (if things go well, that is)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I do! Life is tough sometimes, especially after graduation 😦

        But the only thing we can do is too stay strong! XD

        I believe that it is a seemingly difficult book (as least from the excerpts that I have seen), and the language used is kind of really flowery for me, which makes me feel like certain passages are dragging on for too long, too.

        Seeing it from a different perspective might help; Humbert’s thoughts about his obsession might have been flowery and ‘beautiful’ from the start, so I think the language is to be expected. Though, it might not be everyone’s cup of tea….

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I really don’t like Lolita. I don’t like that it invites the reader to sympathize with the actions of the protagonist and makes them sort of voyeurs/participants and I don’t like that it appears on syllabi and people have to read it. If you only have time to read eight books in the semester, does Lolita really merit a spot? I can think of other books just as valuable and probably more so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

