Review

It Ends With Us- Colleen Hoover

It Ends with Us

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened. With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price. (Goodreads)

My Goodreads Rating: 4 stars (4.5 stars)

*If you’re interested in buying it: It Ends With Us- Colleen Hoover

Where to begin? I don’t really know.

This book is so much more than a romance novel, as I initially thought it was. It’s actually a story about the power and pain of being in relationships, the effects of the past on a person’s present and future, and how a few simple decisions change everything. I went into this novel with a completely different idea of what this book would be, but that didn’t deter me. Here’s why:

First of all, I wasn’t expecting it to be as dark as it would be. It looks like a beautiful little love story, perhaps because of the outstanding book cover. When we initially start delving into Lily’s past, we see that she’s had it incredibly rough. And I think this is one of the reasons the book works so well. The parallels between her past and her present complete a full circle, and the outcome entirely depends on her.

The characters are very well-written. I actually adore Lily’s character; following her thoughts and growth as a person is extremely humbling and satisfying, and everything she does is authentic, even if flawed. The other characters, like Ryle and Atlas, are so well developed that they feel like real people. And that’s why the events in the book broke my heart.

I really, really loved the direction the book took. It was so gritty and terrifying, and so blatantly ruthless in its honesty, that you can’t help but feel like Hoover has slapped you in the face with the truth of it all. She really stresses the importance of trusting your instincts, making your own judgement, and rethinking your predispositions about the “perfect” relationship. There is no such thing as a perfect relationship. Some people have to find that out the hard way.

At first, I was slightly irritated with some cliche characterisation and a little bit of insta-love, but that irritation quickly went away. Hoover does a great job twisting a reader’s perception of what we think is normal and “too good to be true”. And it really hurts. 

The end also didn’t go the way I expected, but I literally mean this in the best way possible. I found myself re-reading passages over and over again. And the title of the book, the one I was sure I had sussed out, meant something entirely different. Mind blown, Colleen Hoover.

So, to finish off, I really need to express how much I want everyone to read this book. Trigger warning: there are some really, really dark passages and instances of violence that I want to caution about; if you’re completely averse to things like that, but would still like to give the book a go, it’s well worth it. Sometimes ugliness has to be explored too, and I appreciate authors who do so.


If you have any thoughts on this book, I’d love to hear them below! Thanks so much for reading! 🙂

5 thoughts on “It Ends With Us- Colleen Hoover

  1. Wonderful review! I read this book last year and totally agree with you! I expected the book to be completely different, and once I started reading it, I was glad it turned out that way. It’s so heartbreaking but important too – we need more books like this
    😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

