Monthly Wrap-up

April Wrap-Up!

Hey, strangers! 🙂 It’s Saturday evening, I’m drinking tea and I’m in super high spirits. You know why? Because I finished my gross exams and now I’m free for the summer!

Image result for yes gif

How did exams go, you ask (not)? Well, let me tell you, they were simply fantastic! I feel so confident and inspired for better things and-

Image result for crying gif

Image result for crying gif

………………….

Let’s just say, I’m glad that stress is behind me. To celebrate, I’ve been lying around like the fat sloth I truly am and doing absolutely nothing all day. That, and writing a bunch of blog posts that are long overdue, including this one! Let’s get to it:


My Goodreads challenge (so far): 70 books in 2017

Books read so far: 22

Books left: 48

Number of books read (April): 5


I read five books in April, and although it isn’t much I’m quite pleased with that number, considering I was in the midst of exam study! Overall, I enjoyed pretty much every book I read in April, with a few exceptions and some things I didn’t like. So let’s see what I read, shall we?

1. Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)- Sarah J. Maas

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)

My Goodreads rating: 5 stars

I’m serious Sarah J. Maas trash, so it’s obvious I’d enjoy anything she writes. I loved this book so much, after finally getting used to the differences between the start of the series and the later books, in terms of plot, character development, etc. I won’t go into too much detail, because I have a full review here, but I’ll just say I’m glad I continued on with the series, after almost giving up.

2. Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1)- Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)

My Goodreads rating: 3 stars

This was a seriously hyped book that I couldn’t fall in love with, despite all my hopes for it. Illuminae is a space opera which takes place in the year 2575, following two teenagers on a terrifying space chase after their planet is attacked, and a deadly virus hits the population of their escape fleet. I can’t stress enough how much I loved the style of the novel- the story is told through emails, government reports, case files and recorded interviews. However, the overall book fell a little flat. Read my full review here.

3. Remembrance (The Mediator #7)- Meg Cabot

Remembrance (The Mediator, #7)

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars

I’m not afraid to admit it: I was obsessed with Meg Cabot back in the day. Good times 🙂 So when I heard she had released another novel in the Mediator series (a seriously underrated little gem) I was super excited. The series follows a teenager called Suze, who is a mediator, in charge of helping ghosts cross over to the other side. This 7th book follows Suze six years after the first six books, with one more exciting case and the re-emergence of some people from her past. Although it’s hardly great literature, this series is a lot of fun, and it was nice to get back into it with a nostalgia rush from my young pre-teen reading days. Any fans of this series? Let me know below!

4. Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass, #5)

My Goodreads rating: 5 marvelous stars

Holy crap, flipping hell and oh my God, this book was an emotional rollercoaster of a read, and I loved every bit of it! The 5th installment of the popular Throne of Glass series, we again follow Aelin Ashryver Galathynius (what a name) as she and her Court fight to reclaim her throne. I was left an emotional wreck after reading this book, and I go into the deets of why that is in my review here.

5. The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1)- Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)

My Goodreads rating: 4 stars (3.5 stars)

Although I read just about every genre, I rarely go for serious (high) fantasy books, and I’m not sure why. So it was nice to pick up this book after reading some great reviews. I did like it, but I had a few problems with it. The story follows Kvothe, a powerful magician who tells the story of how he came to acquire his power, separating myth from truth. In all honesty, although I liked the book, the blurb made it sound so much better and more action-packed than it turned out to be, and I was disappointed that the whole 600+ page book read like a build-up for something else. There was barely any sign of the amazingly powerful magician who had stories told about him by people all over the world. I will read the sequel, in hopes of some answers, and I’ll have a full review for this book soon.


vadzqq8b

Favourite book: Empire of Storms (by far!)

 


And that is it for today! After three blog posts in one day, THREE laptop crashes and 3+ hours of writing and editing because of this, I’m exhausted; but I have so much to catch up on so the next few days will be hectic. Oh, and I have a little giveaway coming up tomorrow, yay!!!! I’m super excited, so look out for it. Anyone and everyone will have a chance to enter! Thanks for reading 🙂

5 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up!

Leave a comment